2022 British Club Championships – Poole

On the 11th/12th June HETHERSETT HAWKS/YELLOW BRICK MORTGAGES riders went to Poole to compete against other clubs from around the country in the British Club Championships. Despite a depleted team, the riders turned what could have been a disastrous weekend into a triumph for team spirit!

First up on the Saturday was Lola riding solo in the Under-12’s category. Determined riding saw Lola win one heat and receive the loudest cheer of the weekend from all the spectators! She finished on a very respectable 15 points.

The rest of the Hawks action was on Sunday, first up the Open Semi Final where the Hawks missed Leigh Cossey who unfortunately couldn’t attend due to a knee injury from the weekend before. The team was Paul, Ollie, Dave and Mason racing against Exeter, Coventry, Poole and Horspath. Following some exciting racing they finished on 24 points and did not get through to the final. Horspath won the final, followed by runners up Poole, Great Blakenham and Ipswich.

Next up was Mason riding in the Under 16’s. Unfortunately the Hawks were a rider short again, but Mason rode really well and battled through to finish on 17 points.

Finally Dave was in action in the Over-40s, riding on his own as his team member couldn’t ride due to illness. Already having unexpectedly ridden in the Open Championships to make up the numbers, Dave rode efficiently and even won a heat, finishing on 14 points.

As shown in the photos, Poole was a lovely location for a weekend of cycle speedway and the track was immaculate! Poole CSC have excellent facilities and put in a lot of work to make the weekend a success, we were made to feel very welcome. Dave was the only rider to have ridden there before, so a great experience for all riders and another track ticked off the list!

Full results –


Poole 39 Kesgrave B 35 Sheffield 32 Kesgrave A 31 Newport 27 Leicester 20 Hethersett 15 (Lola Martin 15)


Kesgrave 41 Exeter 36 Poole 34 Southampton 31 Horspath 23 Ipswich 22 Hethersett 17 (Mason Martin 17)


Leicester B 39 Leicester A 34 Poole 33 Exeter 32 Newport 29 Sheffield 22 Hethersett 14 (Dave Martin 14)


Poole 56 Horspath 52 Coventry 40 Exeter 27 Hethersett 24 (Mason Martin 7 Paul Delaiche 6 Ollie Buxton 6 Dave Martin 5)

Well done to all riders! Looking forward to 2023!

Click to enlarge photos